Sea Snake

Sea snake is the name given to many different species of snakes that live in the sea.

There are around 60 different types of sea snakes, and 14 of these species live on or near the Great Barrier Reef off the coast of Australia. There are two distinct groups of sea snakes today: the Laticaudids and the Hydophiids. They are believed to have evolved from the snakes that lived on the continent nearly 30 million years ago.

The sea snake’s shape aids its ability to swim. Their tails have evolved to include a paddle on the tale to help propel them through the water. They can grow to be between four and five feet long on average. There have been documented cases of a sea snake reaching almost 10 feet in length.

Sea Snake is found in...

Top 10 Most Dangerous Animals in The Ocean
( 10 items )
Item Position (rank): 9